• 2449 X

Rumi Songs – Trygve Seim

1 In Your Beauty
2 Seeing Double
3 Across The Doorsill
4 The Guest House
5 Leaving My Self
6 When I See Your Face
7 Like Every Other Day
8 The Drunk And The Madman
9 Whirling Rhythms
10 There Is Some Kiss We Wan

Tora Augestad, vocal · Trygve Seim, tenor and soprano saxophone · Frode Haltli, accordion · Svante Henryson, violoncello

(Norsk) Trygve Seim beskriver Rumi’s diktning som vakker og menneskelig, poesi som går utenom religiøse grenser og landegrenser.

kr 111

Norwegian saxophonist Trygve Seim sets the poetry of Jalaluddin Rumi (1207-1273), using the inspired contemporary English-language versions of Coleman Barks and Kabir Helminski as his source texts. Trygve responds both to the musicality of the translations and to Rumi’s gifts as a storyteller and with Rumi Songs seems to have invented a new kind of Lieder with a Nordic-Oriental orientation. The line-up is strikingly unorthodox, with each of the quartet members bringing their own musical personalities to the material. Classical mezzo-soprano Tora Augestad is well-known as the leader of her own ensemble Music For A While, and for her numerous music-theatre collaborations with Christoph Mathaler. She finds an intimate tone to convey Rumi’s thoughts, underlined by the elegant arrangements and the improvisational input of Seim, Haltli and Henryson.

Release date: 19.08.2016

EAN: 602547322531

Cat.No.: 4732253

Priskategori: CD